Dear Daughter: The Final Results

3 Sep
Image

Image courtesy of Fox and Friends.

Thank you for making Roadkill Goldfish one of the top blog sites on the Internet. It’s been a crazy week behind the keyboard.  Here are a few numbers to measure the insanity:

  • Dear Daughter had more than 4,052,000 viewers.
  • The post generated more than 1,800 comments from around the world – minus those that had to be deleted for foul language.  (I’m a family-friendly blogger.)
  • Feedback was overwhelmingly positive, and the message resonated with parents and grandparents. A few folks disagreed, and a few missed the entire point. Ya can’t win ’em all.
  • The blog was accessed by countries all over the globe. The Top 12 viewers were the U.S., Canada, the Philippines, the United Kingdom, Mexico, Australia, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, New Zealand, United Arab Emirates and Germany. (Yeah, I myself freaked out over United Arab Emirates!)
  • I was a live guest on Piers Morgan Live and Fox and Friends.  I was also interviewed by Good Morning America, BBC and Fox 5 New York.
  • The post itself was read on countless radio stations across the country. I did interviews with stations in Minnesota, Texas, Oregon, Tennessee, North Carolina, Oregon, California, Canada and the United Kingdom.
  • It’s not about the money. The post and all the surrounding activity led to 0 job offers and $0, but it was great to start an international dialogue on parenting and reminding our girls of their value. It was also great to get thank you letters from many teen girls.

I hope that you continue to follow Roadkill Goldfish in the future. You’ll discover that I am actually a very decent human being with a quirky sense of humor.

Thank you again for all your support.

Comment Policy:
I welcome your feedback, but I will not tolerate personal attacks.It’s okay to disagree, but be respectful. Attack the issue, not the person. Vulgarity, racism, religion bashing, slams about sexual orientation, name calling, advertisements and generally being a jerk to others will send your comment to the trash bin.

So play nice.

19 Responses to “Dear Daughter: The Final Results”

  1. sgeraldscott September 4, 2013 at 1:09 AM #

    I enjoyed your “quirky sense of humor”, it’s an effective way to deliver a serious message. I’ve bookmarked your blog and will look-in from time to time. I’m encouraged by the conversation you’ve started – not only here but at office water-coolers, dinner tables and Labor Day barbeques across the land. And I think a lot of folks here in “fly-over country” were glad to know they’re not isolated in their views; that our society has not completely drifted into insanity.

    One question if I may: Roadkill Goldfish – what’s the back-story behind the name?

    • Kim Keller September 4, 2013 at 9:51 AM #

      The name comes from a very valiant little fish who died because of the durability of Michelin tires. I dropped my fish bowl in a parking lot, and a car ran him over. Seriously. The story is in the blog’s very first post.

    • sgeraldscott September 4, 2013 at 12:05 PM #

      Hmm…Grinding Nemo. So sad.

      Now I’ll have to go back and read your tragically amusing story.

    • Donna Frasca September 4, 2013 at 1:28 PM #

      Kim, I have a photograph I took of a goldfish (goldfish snacks) that would be perfect for this blog! I”ll email it to you.

    • sgeraldscott September 5, 2013 at 4:36 PM #

      😀

      I read your fish story; made me laugh!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. No resolutions for 2014, just new experiences | Roadkill Goldfish - December 30, 2013

    […] fears in 2013 – my son’s cancer scare, my brain lesion, threats and hate from my blog and the Piers Morgan show. (Piers was by far the scariest.) I haven’t decided what fears I’ll tackle in 2014. I may try a […]

  2. hikoplertuiom - September 4, 2013

    Websites we think you should visit

    […]although websites we backlink to below are considerably not related to ours, we feel they are actually worth a go through, so have a look[…]…

Leave a Reply

