My youngest’s Miley-like behavior leads to a “Come to Jesus Meeting”

28 Oct

I had a “come to Jesus meeting” with our youngest last weekend.

For those of you unfamiliar with Southern idioms, the phrase denotes a get-together between two or more people where a candid and somewhat harsh discussion will take place. The discussion usually centers on unacceptable behavior.

My behavior has been great, but Charlotte’s behavior and attitude have been rough for a few months now. She had always been a very sociable and happy girl, but she started acting out to get attention.  She’s been climbing up in boys’ laps and trying to kiss them.  She started walking around naked after her baths. She’s torn up the other kids’ toys and clothing. She’s ignored me when I’ve tried to discipline her.

As I looked into her brown eyes, I knew I had to be strong. Part of me wanted to scream and part of me wanted to cuddle with her. As a parent, it’s hard to discipline the youngest. Maybe it’s because we still see them as our innocent babies incapable of doing wrong or maybe we’re just worn out from the older kids’ chaos. Regardless of the reason, Charlotte needed to be set straight – for her own good and for the sanity of the rest of the family.

She blankly stared at me as I told her about her inappropriate actions. She didn’t understand why it was wrong to wiggle her butt in public or have her tongue hanging out all the time. (See related post on Miley Cyrus.) She found nothing wrong with climbing all over a cute boy. She didn’t care about the damage she’d inflicted on the other kids. Worst of all, she honestly believed rules apply to everyone BUT her.

The more I spoke, the less she listened. She whined and then walked away from me. I was angry, and I’m ashamed to say I committed a very heinous parental sin.

“You are acting like a complete and total bitch,” I said under my breath.

Charlotte heard my words and stopped in her tracks. Her face looked puzzled, but then she realized what she had done.

She slowly walked back to my chair, put her paws on my knees, licked my hands and then barked because she had to go outside after such a long conversation.

I was thankful I didn’t have to add pooping on the carpet to the discussion that night.

14 Responses to “My youngest’s Miley-like behavior leads to a “Come to Jesus Meeting””

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lawsuit alleges Claus promotes hostile and unsafe work environment in shelf-elf program | Roadkill Goldfish - December 17, 2013

    […] to MSNBC, their lawyers are preparing an animal companion defamation lawsuit against Jingle. “Charlotte Keller is a companion with her own thoughts, desires and needs, and she is entitled to the same […]

Leave a Reply

